2020 Pelican Island Audubon Superstars


Pelican Island Audubon here recognizes our Superstars for their efforts of those along the Treasure Coast who work and volunteer to keep our environment safe; promote, educate, and advocate for clean waters in our rivers and lagoon; manage human waste well, pick up trash on our roads, replace lawn grass with native plants; publish books on birds, facilitate giving away our native trees and plants, support our after-school programs, keep our Audubon House functioning, and set outstanding leadership examples. These winners highlight some of our activities, and inspire us all to work together to improve our quality of life and make Indian River County and the Treasure Coast a sustainable, environmentally excellent, and happy place to live.  

Phyllis Stockburger Award to a long-time supportive PIAS member, Judy Orcutt, for her many years promoting our county’s Clean Water human-waste management from our septic systems and our boats. 

Special Service Award to Dr. Juanita N. Baker for all her efforts in composing Florida Birds Exposed, arranging publication, and donating all proceeds to Pelican Island Audubon.  She also teaches our wonderful Birding course and donates the proceeds to the chapter, and is also supporting our volunteer coordinator. 

Board Member of the Year to Ricky Ray for raising and maintaining our plant and tree nursery, trailering kayaks, helping when needed, and taking our Audubon Advocates kayaking. 

Maggy Bowman/ Conservationists of the Year: to individuals who have made outstanding contributions in the area of conservation, promoting environmental concerns, or educating the general public in regard to local environmental conditions. Lisa Rinaman as the St. John’s Riverkeeper and Marty Baum, Indian Riverkeeper for working many years to keep our rivers clean and beautiful for us and our wildlife. 

Environmental Educator: to Dr. Nathan Daniel Burkett-Cadena, University of Florida Assistant Professor for providing our after-school Audubon Advocates with a great education on the life history of mosquitoes and their many environments over the last 5 years. 

Environmental Citizen to John Nelson for his Audubon Moments on WQCS and producing the great film America’s Amazon: The Story of the St. Lucie River. 

Conservation Journalist to Sue Cocking, reporter for 32963 for continually informing the pubic about our environmental issues. 

Environmental Landscaping Award to Vero Beach Mayor Tony Young, City Council, & City Manager Monte Falls together they have implemented the replacement of grass with Florida-friendly and native plants and rain gardens at City Hall. 

President’s Award to Vice Mayor Laura Moss for strongly promoting the replacement of city grass lawns with native plant and trees for birds. 

Eleanor & Bud Kleckner Award to Bill Halliday for his generosity in providing free expertise, labor, and materials to keep our Audubon House functioning excellently. 

Special Recognition to Lloyd Hollingsworth weekly effort picking up trash on Oslo Road for many years and removing all our recyclables. 

Environmental Youth Award to Trenton Rosario, a graduate of our Audubon Advocates program.  He began growing red mangrove trees to help with the living shorelines project from Marine Resources Council, then donated those baby mangroves to MRC to be planted along the shoreline.  Trenton is one of the founding members of Audubon’s Nature Club (which meets one Saturday a month) and is beginning to take a leadership role in this new club. He also volunteered at our two conferences, this year and last on Transforming Landscapes for a Sustainable future.

Comment - Please use your first and last name. Comments of up to 350 words are welcome.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s