Tchaikovsky & Brahms Concert Free in Vero Beach


Joni Roos is one of six chamber musicians who will perform Tchaikovsky & Brahms: A Chamber Concert. Photo courtesy Space Coast Symphony Orchestra.

In the midst of the summer heat, treat yourself to some cool classical music, with six players from the Space Coast Symphony Orchestra in a free presentation of Tchaikovsky & Brahms: A Chamber Concert at 3:00 PM on Sunday, August 25 at First Presbyterian Church of Vero Beach, 520 Royal Palm Boulevard, 32960.  Chamber music is a form of classical music that is composed for a small group of instruments—traditionally a group that could fit in a palace “chamber” or a large room. Most broadly, it includes any art music that is performed by a small number of performers. The program will feature two popular chamber works: Brahms’ String Quartet No. 2 in A minor and Tchaikovsky’s beloved string sextet,Souvenir de Florence. The Brahms’ work is rhythmically compact and high spirited, ideal for sharing the program with Tchaikovsky’s neo-classical and sunny Souvenir, originally sketched while the composer was visiting Florence, Italy. Featured musicians for Tchaikovsky & Brahms: A Chamber Concert include Joni Roos and Jim Leda, violin; Michael De Jesus and Daniel Cortes, viola; Paul Fleury and Lorraine Hogle, cello. Admission is free, although a donation of $10 is recommended. No tickets are required. For more information, call toll free to 855-252-7276 or visit


(Brahms) String Quartet No. 2 in A minor

Johannes Brahms’s String Quartet No. 1 in C minor and String Quartet No. 2 in A minor were completed in Tutzing, Bavaria, during the summer of 1873, and published together that autumn as Op. 51. They are dedicated to his friend Theodor Billroth. He was 40 years old at the time of publication. Brahms regarded the string quartet as a particularly important genre. He reportedly destroyed some 20 string quartets before allowing the two Op. 51 quartets to be published.

More at,_Op._51_(Brahms)

(Tchaikovsky) Souvenir de Florence

The String Sextet in D minor “Souvenir de Florence”, Op. 70, is a string sextet scored for 2 violins, 2 violas, and 2 cellos composed in the summer of 1890 by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky. Tchaikovsky dedicated the work to the St. Petersburg Chamber Music Society in response to his becoming an Honorary Member. The work, in the traditional four-movement form, was titled “Souvenir de Florence” because the composer sketched one of the work’s principal themes while visiting Florence, Italy. The work was revised between December 1891 and January 1892, before being premiered in 1892.

More at

ABOUT THE SPACE COAST SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA— The SCSO is a lively and passionate Central Florida orchestra comprised of professional musicians, music educators and mentored amateurs of exceptional ability.  The Orchestra was formed by Conductor and Artistic Director Aaron T. Collins with a two-fold mission: to provide mentoring and performance opportunities for Florida’s finest young musicians as well as to provide professional concerts at genuinely affordable prices.  The ultimate goal of the organization is to help ensure the symphonic tradition for the enjoyment of future generations.

35-year old Aaron T. Collins is garnering recognition for his achievements.  LEAD Brevard named the ambitious Collins one of their “4 under 40” Young Professionals, the youngest-ever recipient of the honor.  Space Coast Business magazine listed him as one of Brevard’s “100 Most Admired Businesspeople.” Collins is a past recipient of the Richard A. Stark Award for cultural leadership from the Cultural Council of Indian River County.  Through his personal involvement with more than a dozen performing arts groups, pioneering reciprocal ad program and social media cross promotions, Collins has gained a reputation for generosity; championing other arts organizations throughout Central Florida for the cultural enrichment of the community.

The Space Coast Symphony Orchestra performs in several very comfortable venues in Brevard and Indian River counties, with advance general admission tickets priced at just $25.  School-aged children 18 years and under are admitted free of charge, as are college students with a valid ID.  In keeping with their mission, the symphony provides a unique Symphony for Everyoneticketing program, a “pay-what-you-can” option designed to provide substantially discounted admission to any Space Coast Symphony concert.  Relying on a non-traditional orchestra model and a slim budget, the Space Coast Symphony Orchestra is one of only 19 U.S. orchestras to perform year-round. In addition to maintaining the Space Coast Symphony JAZZ Orchestra and Space Coast Symphony Wind Orchestra, the non-profit organization also has a youth orchestra and provides numerous separate and free ensemble performances. More information about the Space Coast Symphony Orchestra’s upcoming concerts, ticket sales, venues, directions and sponsorship opportunities is available at by calling toll free (855) 252-7276.

Space Coast Symphony Orchestra Conductor and Artistic Director, Aaron T. Collins, was pleased to add another free concert by chamber players to the orchestra’s 2019-20 season.

“The Space Coast Symphony has got incredible bench strength,” said Collins. “Really talented players, one after another.  And that includes all these wonderful musicians.  This free concert for the community will give the audience a chance to experience works by Tchaikovsky and Brahms up close, with a small group that is really passionate about the music.”

For more information about the Space Coast Symphony’s 2019-20 Season or the Symphony for Everyone discount ticket program, please visit or call toll-free (855) 252-7276.

Comment - Please use your first and last name. Comments of up to 350 words are welcome.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s