Contrary to report, Mayor Jay Kramer has not resigned

Old, Gorry, Moss, Sykes, Wells, Young on Nov. 8 ballot


Mayor Jay Kramer
Mayor Jay Kramer

Based on a local news report yesterday, Vero Beach residents may be wondering who is now presiding over their city council.  Yesterday, a Press Journal/ “staff report” read, “Kramer resigned to run for an Indian River County Commission seat, but after his Aug. 30 primary election defeat, he still could have run for Vero Beach City Council re-election.” 

Contrary to what was reported, Kramer did not resign from his position on the Vero Beach City Council. He will continue to serve on the Council through November 14, when the newly elected Council will hold an organizational meeting.

Earlier this week, Kramer, who is finishing his sixth year on the council, requested from the City Clerk’s office the papers necessary to file to run again. Fellow council member, Pilar Turner, had also pulled filing papers, but ultimately chose, like Kramer, not to run for re-election to the Council.

With the Sept. 9 filing deadline now past, Kramer’s and Turner’s decisions not to seek re-election leave a field of six candidates vying for 3 seats on the Council.  Incumbent Vice Mayor Randy Old is seeking re-election, and will be running along with Sharon Gorry, Laura Moss, Lange Sykes, Norman Wells and Tony Young.


  1. Did I read this correctly, Sykes is running for city council! Just when I thought we wouldn’t be getting anymore of those nasty postcards.

Comment - Please use your first and last name. Comments of up to 350 words are welcome.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s