Riverside Theatre presents The Pulitzer Prize Winning Musical, Next To Normal


Riverside Theatre, led by Producing Artistic Director/CEO Allen D. Cornell and Managing Director/COO Jon R. Moses, presents the Tony Award® and Pulitzer Prize-winning musical, Next To Normal, written by Tom Kitt and Brian Yorkey. Next To Normal performs on the Waxlax Stage from January 22 – February 10, 2019 and is sponsored by Chris & Winnie Mortenson and Riverside Theatre’s Patron Producers Group.

The contemporary musical, Next to Normal, chronicles the emotional toll on a family that is forced to come to terms with their past and face their future as the mother, Diana, suffers from depression. What starts out as a normal day, becomes anything but when complex issues arise. Next To Normal gives audiences the chance to enter one family’s story of love and loss with sympathy and heart.

While mental illness is not standard Broadway fare, Next to Normal not only managed to garner critical acclaim but also attained commercial success on Broadway and on national tours.

What began as a 10-minute class project at the BMI Lehman Engel Musical Theatre Workshop between Brian Yorkey and Tom Kitt about electroconvulsive therapy, turned into  a show that won three 2009 Tony Awards® and the 2010 Pulitzer Prize for Drama.

“We’ve known and loved people who have struggled with depression – as so many people have,” said composer Tom Kitt in an interview with DC Theatre Scene. “The show is formed by many of these experiences, and also by a great deal of research and reading of other first-person accounts.”

Mostly sung through, with some dialogue, Next To Normal is filled with emotionally powerful songs. The award-winning score incorporates dynamic rhythms and orchestrations to showcase the struggles this family faces, but also the reconciliation and hope everyone strives to attain.

Next To Normal opened at the Booth Theatre on March 27, 2009 and closed on January 16, 2001 after 754 performances.

Riverside’s production of Next To Normal will be directed and scenically designed by Allen D. Cornell and stars Judy McLane (Diana), Eric Kunze (Dan), Patrick Mobley (Gabe), Isabella Stansbury (Natalie), P.J. Griffith (Dr. Madden/Dr. Fine) and Clay Singer (Henry).

The design and production crew includes: Ken Clifton (Music Director), Kurt Alger (Costume & Wig Design), Julie Duro (Lighting Design), Craig Beyrooti (Sound Design), and Kyle Atkins (Production Stage Manager). Casting was done in New York City by Wojcik / Seay Casting.

Next To Normal performs January 22 – February 10, 2019 on the Waxlax Stage at Riverside Theatre. Tickets are $75. Tickets can be purchased by calling the Box Office at 772-231-6990 or online at http://www.riversidetheatre.com.

Performances are Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays at 7:30pm; Fridays and Saturdays at 8pm; with matinees on Wednesdays, select Thursdays, Saturdays and Sundays at 2pm.

Performance Schedule:

January 22, 23, 24, 30, 31, February 5, 6 &7 @ 7:30pm

January 23, 26, 27, 30, 31, February 2, 3 6, 9 & 10 @ 2pm

January 25, 26, February 1, 2, 8 & 9 @ 8pm

Riverside’s 2018-2019 Season also includes: Evita (January 8-27), The Last Romance (February 5-24), My Fair Lady (March 12-31) and Legally Blonde (April 16 – May 5) on the Stark Stage and Ghost-Writer (March 26 – April 14) on the Waxlax Stage.

 Riverside Theatre is located at 3250 Riverside Park Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963. Riverside Theatre programs are sponsored in part by the State of Florida, Department of State, Division of Cultural Affairs and the Florida Arts Council, and the National Endowment for the Arts. Riverside Theatre is a member of the Cultural Council of Indian River County, the Indian River Chamber of Commerce, and the Sebastian River Area Chamber of Commerce.


Honoring excellence in journalism and the arts since 1917, the Pulitzer Prize for Drama recognizes theatrical work staged in the United States during a preceding calendar year. While not necessarily awarded every year, 87 awards have been issued to both plays and musicals during its inception. Many of the plays awarded have become classics in the theatre world including: Our Town,  A Street Car Named Desire, Death of A Salesman, Picnic, Cat on A Hot Tin Roof, The Diary of Anne Frank, Long Day’s  Journey Into Night, The Gin Game, Driving Miss Daisy, Lost in Yonkers, Angels in America, Wit, Proof, and Doubt, to name a few.  Only nine musicals have won the award including: South Pacific, A Chorus Line, Rent, Hamilton and Brian Yorkey & Tom Kitt’s Next To Normal.


Comment - Please use your first and last name. Comments of up to 350 words are welcome.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s