Education Foundation awards $62,406 in high impact grants


The Education Foundation of Indian River County is awarding $62,406.34 in High Impact Grants to School District of Indian River County teachers and schools. This is an almost 30% increase over last year’s total award amount. In the 2020 competitive grant process there were 17 proposals to consider.

The EFIRC Grant Committee narrowed the field to 9 finalists who did in-person presentations and participated in a question and answer session with the committee. Projects funded are:

 Citrus Elementary-Valerie Savoie Guerra: “Differentiated Learning at Citrus Elementary School”

 Dodgertown Elementary School-Elizabeth Laviska: “ Dodgertown Elementary Full STEAM Ahead”

 Indian River Academy-Amy D’Albora: “Limitless Ingenuity: Building a Community of Innovative Learners”

 Osceola Magnet School-Janine Jones: “Fab Lab – Explore, Imagine, Create!”

 Rosewood Magnet School–Jaime Coleman & Casandra Flores: “Core Knowledge Interdisciplinary Learning is Gaining STEAM”

 Sebastian Elementary School-Ashley Kohlstedt: “DRUMMING Up Student Success at the NEST”

 Sebastian River High School-Garrett Roux: “Automotive Electrical Trainers 2.0”

 Sebastian River Middle School-Sharon Dotson: “PBIS Awards”

 Storm Grove Middle School–Margaret Neely: “Stingras FULL STEAM Ahead! Through the Stingray STEAM Maker Space”

Grant amounts are available on the Education Foundation website: Check presentations will take place at the October 13th School District of Indian River County Board Meeting.

Funding for the High Impact Grants is made possible by a $1:$1 matching grant program through the Florida Legislature with the Consortium of Florida Education Foundations serving as the fiscal agent. Local funders for this year’s matching grants are: Quail Valley Charities, The LJ Foundation, Grand Harbor Community Outreach Program; Head, Heart and Hands of Indian River Golf Club and John’s Island Community Service League.

For more information, please contact the Education Foundation office: Douglas Herron, Executive Director,, (772) 564-0034.

Comment - Please use your first and last name. Comments of up to 350 words are welcome.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s